User Roles & Permissions

When setting up users in SiteCapture it’s important to choose the best user role. The information below will assist you in selecting the most appropriate role for your new user. 

For a full list of permissions and capabilities for each user role please view this PDF: User Roles & Permissions.

To learn how to set up a new user visit: Creating and Managing Users

 

Portal Admin

The portal admin has access to all features and settings in your SiteCapture portal. They can create and manage users, work, templates, and more.  Portal admins can see all work created in the SiteCapture portal.

For example, Portal admins may be supervisors who manage the configuration of SiteCapture and are performing a high-level review of work. 

Admin users will most often use the web app portal and rarely need to utilize the mobile app.

We highly recommend that you only have one or two portal admins as they do have the highest level of permissions.

Review a full list of Portal Admin permissions here

 

Manager

Manager users can create and assign work, as well as create field and customer users. Managers cannot edit SiteCapture settings or templates.

Managers can see all work created in the portal unless they are restricted to only viewing by type.  However, they can always see all work of any type that they have permission to view.

For example, you may create a Manager user for anyone who is overseeing the day-to-day operations of SiteCapture. This may include creating new work, assigning work to a field user, and setting a due date. Managers can also assist with organizing work by creating saved views, i.e. “Work Completed This Week”.

Review a full list of Manager permissions here

 

Field User

Field users only have access to work that has been assigned to them. They can also see saved views if the permission is set to “everyone” or if they create their own “private” view. Field users can only view (not edit) “admin only” fields and cannot see any fields “hidden from field user”

For example, a field user may be an inspector who needs to complete various inspections you have assigned to them. They will log in to the SiteCapture mobile app to access and complete their work as a field user.

Review a full list of Field User permissions here

 

Customer

Customer users can be set on projects which allow them to access the work to review in a read-only state. They have very limited access to the SiteCapture system but can change statuses (depending on the settings in your templates) and review photos and reports of work assigned to them.  They can also create a PDF report in the “customer view”.

For example, a Customer user may be the owner of a property to who you would like to give access to SiteCapture to review a completed inspection of their home. You can hide information/fields from them by making those fields “hidden from customer”.  If you had a status such as "customer approved" or "customer reviewed" they could be allowed to set that status. 

Customer is also a searchable field in our advanced search criteria.  You can use this to create views by customers as well.

Review a full list of Customer permissions here

 

Additional Roles

If you see a role you would like to use but don't currently have access to, please contact us and we can enable it for you.

 

User

Users have access to work that has been assigned to them. They can see saved views if the permission is set to "everyone" or if they create their own "private" view. They can view (not edit) "admin only" fields. Admins/Managers cannot hide any fields or statuses when using this role. Users can set a workflow state that has been set to "Field User can't set this status".

Review a full list of User permissions here

 

Read-only Manager: 

Read-only Managers can view all projects but they cannot edit or copy any projects. They do not have access to any of the admin settings (including templates). They can search projects, create views, and export project data. They can view Project Comments and In-App Messages, but cannot create them.

 

All Access Field User

An All Access Field User has access to all projects -- they do not need to have the project assigned to them or shared with them.  This role is useful if projects are frequently worked on by multiple users.

Note that in any given project, All Access Field Users have the same permissions as regular Field Users: they see the same fields and statuses, and can take the same actions as someone with a Field User role.

 

SiteCapture Role Portal Admin Manager User Field User Customer Vendor Basic Admin
(Edit Permissions)
Vendor Basic Admin
(Admin Permissions) 
Vendor Field User
Admin Menus
Dashboard
Company Info          
Admin Settings              
Vendors - Add, Invite & Connect, Edit, Manage          
Find and View Vendors            
Vendors - View            
Templates              
Types              
Users: Add/Edit "Portal Admin"              
Users: Add/Edit "Manager Users"              
Users: Add/Edit "Vendor Users"              
User: Add/Edit “Field Users”        
User: Add/Edit “Customer Users”            
Import            
Activity Log             
SiteCapture Role Portal Admin Manager User Field User Customer Vendor Basic Admin
(Edit Permissions)
Vendor Basic Admin
(Admin Permissions) 
Vendor Field User
Actions
Create New Work Orders from Web Portal       *2 *2  
Import/Export Templates between web portals              
Set / Edit Work Order Sharing Permissions *1      
Assign Work Orders *1      
Change Due Date *3            
Change Priority *3            
Change Status *4
Edit Admin Only Fields (unless specific admin permission is set) *1        
Search, Sort or Filter Work Orders on Dashboard (this feature
must be turned on)
*1    
Archive Work Orders            
Unarchive Work Orders            
Access Archives via Advanced Search      
Permanently Delete Work & Archives (Feature must be turned on)              
Can see customer hidden fields, documents  
SiteCapture Role Portal Admin Manager User Field User Customer Vendor Basic Admin
(Edit Permissions)
Vendor Basic Admin
(Admin Permissions) 
Vendor Field User
Actions
Can see field user hidden fields, documents        
Add Comments to Work Orders (Comment Modal in Web Portal)          
View Activity Log on Work Orders             
Flag Photos            
Download Photos in Zip File
Create and View PDF Reports: Admin Report *1          
Create and View PDF Reports: Customer Report        
Advanced Search        
Advanced Search: Save an Admin View        
Advanced Search: See an Admin View        
Advanced Search: Save "Everyone View"        
Advanced Search: See "Everyone View"  
Advanced Search: Save "Private View"  
SiteCapture Role Portal Admin Manager User Field User Customer Vendor Basic Admin
(Edit Permissions)
Vendor Basic Admin
(Admin Permissions) 
Vendor Field User
Actions
Advanced Search: See "Private View"  
Advanced Search: Export Data
Save Favorite View
Create Dashboard Message              
Viewing Dashboard Message
Set Customer on Work Orders            
Set Manager on Work Orders            
Create/Delete/Hide Types              
Add Services              
Export Active Vendors              
Attach documents on Template level              
Delete Documents            
Add documents to Work Order/Project
Photo Manager
Geocode Photos
SiteCapture Role Portal Admin Manager User Field User Customer Vendor Basic Admin
(Edit Permissions)
Vendor Basic Admin
(Admin Permissions) 
Vendor Field User
Actions
Add coverage areas to Vendors            
Copy Projects *1          
Create & Delete Tags              
Adding Tags *1          
Bulk Tagging             
View Tags             
Batch Reports (Feature must be turned on)            
Turn on/off email notifications
Add Contained Types              
View Containers
Manager: Limited to all work created by TYPE                
Vendor Companies: Only see assigned/shared work                

*1 (Users who have "Admin" permissions on projects)

*2 (Clients who give Vendors "Admin" permissions)

*3 (If a user "shares" a project with another user
and gives that user admin privileges on the shared project that
user will be able to change the Due Date & Priority)

*4 (users can see certain statuses and change certain
statuses depending on what the portal admin has set up in the
templates)

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments